I covet, personal

My Christmas wishlist 2015

SPRINGTIME

It’s the most expensive time of the year and a person has been asking me about what I want as a present (LOL). Let me cut to the chase and say it out right that I want a lot of things. That’s bad. The great thing is that I’ve narrowed down the things I want by necessity and utility. See? So here it goes: my Christmas wishlist.

1. Osprey Kyte 36L pack in Rose Red

91v0u3c3ccl-_sy355_

Photo from Amazon.com

I’ve been on the lookout for a pack for the longest time now. In fact, my boyfriend’s parents just bought an Osprey Sirrus 36 pack for me (it’s not a present: I’m paying for it since ROX BGC ran out of stocks when I came to buy last weekend). I’m not 100% in love with the Sirrus pack — I really am in love with the Kyte, though. Sad to say, ROX BGC doesn’t have it. The ROX over at Centrio, though, does have Kyte but not in the color I want.

The major difference between Sirrus and Kyte is the load they can carry. Although they’re both 36-liter capacity packs, I’ve found out that Sirrus is more appropriate for day hikes or overnight trips. Kyte, on the other hand, can carry up to 40 liters and you can use it very well for longer trips.

I’m not really a maximalist in terms of packing. I like to pack light, which makes Sirrus 36 a perfect choice because it will force me to not bring too many things, but the Kyte would be perfect for longer climbs which I plan to do starting 2016.

The Osprey Kyte 36 retails around PHP6990 here in the Philippines, I believe. The Sirrus, on the other hand, costs 50 bucks less, which isn’t a significant difference.

2. A film camera

spotmatic-1

Photo from Basepath.com

Now I’m not looking for a spiffy, brand new film camera. I actually prefer the vintage ones that cost roughly around 1k-4k. I recently got my single-use camera developed some weeks ago and I really am looking forward to dabble in more film photography. I joined a FB group where they sell such stuff. I’m not really knowledgeable about brands and everything, but a Canon, Yashica, Pentax, Ricoh, or a Minolta SLR film camera would do fine. But why an SLR? A colleague back in college told me rangefingers are quite hard to figure out but they’re great for bokehs. I’m not into that stuff so SLR then.

3. A pair of white sneakers (New Balance, Nike, Adidas, Superga, or Converse)

supergabefore2

A pair of white sneakers from Superga. Retails around 2-3k. Photo from repositorymag.com

I’ve been meaning to get myself a (considerably more) affordable pair of white sneakers from Bershka or Stradivarius (which retails around 1.5k-1.9k) but I don’t know, I keep buying other things. The white sneakers would look so well with my ever growing monochrome wardrobe.

4. A pair of leather (or faux leather) Chelsea booths in tan or black.

image1xl

Photo from asos.com

My boyfriend has been bugging me about getting a pair just so I can protect my feet everytime it rains. I mostly wear flats and open-toe sandals, and I don’t have a lot of choice in footwear to begin with. I don’t want those boots covered in “suede,” though. They look disgusting when wet.

5. A bunch of sports bras from Nike or Under Armour

y

I would prefer my sports bras to NOT be in neon. Photo from polyvore.com

I really want to take this running thing seriously, and only having 2 pairs of sports bras (I KNOW) is ridiculous. I know my itty-bitties don’t really need support, but I believe that if you wear the right kind of clothing, you get inspired to actually do what you’re going to do. That’s how it goes in my case, at least.

6. Better yet, a bunch of sports clothes (also known as ACTIVEWEAR)

fit-and-fab-2014-shop-top-performing-activewear-01

These two models remind me I need to get back on my Modelfit for real. Photo from blog.nordstrom.com

Do you know that most of my legit sport stuff are presents from my boyfriend? Yep. Even one of the sports bras I wear. Now am I poor that I can’t afford to buy a bunch of sports stuff? No. But I have other priorities, and I figured that other people can get me such things instead. Or, I can get said things for significantly less than what they usually cost in Nike or Adidas.

7. New Balance Vazee Pace in Burgundy with Flame or Saucony Ride 8

newbalance_vazeepacenyc_1

New Balance Vazee Pace for women. Photo from chrissports.ch.

This ties with with the whole “running for real” thing. I use an old Nike… I forgot the name. It’s white with a purple check. It’s nice and comfortable. But it’s not really MINE. I want my own pair of running shoes in a colorway that I actually like. I’m really into burgundy, maroon, and dark purple, so the new Vazee is great. It’s got a floral mesh thing going on as well. The best part is that it’s not so expensive — it only retails around 4k!

8. A bunch of lipstick from MAC

SONY DSC

MAC Brick-O-La. Photo from indyabeauty.com

I’m not a big makeup person, but I do believe in looking your best everyday. My friend, Bea, got me a tube of Sin from her recent trip to HK, so now I only have a few other colors I want, namely Brick O La, Taupe, and Chatterbox. And then I think I’m alright for a year or so. Again, I don’t wear makeup often.

9. An external hard drive (1TB)

usb-hard-drive

Photo from amazon.com

Ever since I reformatted my laptop, I got a little bit skeptical about storing files on my laptop. Not that I experienced anything traumatic — I’m just so tired of keeping files safe and then having to let them go because my laptop decided to go crazy. I’m currently using Dropbox (it’s a whole different thing I know) but it doesn’t exactly have the amount of space I need. An external hard drive from a reputable brand would be absolutely nice.

10. A copy of Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente

catherynnevalente-deathless

This cover looks so much better than the other one. Photo from ledbyapapertrail.blogspot.com

You know, I’ve been looking for a copy of this book for one hundred years. I can’t seem to find any. I’ve read the book from a PDF copy I found somewhere, but it’s different from actually reading it on print. I love it, and I need it on my bookshelf.

11. Swimmies from FLOAT Swimwear

I’m not the most confident girl out there when it comes to wearing bikinis and shit, but the cutest ones out there definitely motivate me to achieve ~~dat body~~, if you know what I mean. Ever since Tracianne Estrada launched her swimwear line, I’ve been eyeing some of her pieces. Unfortunately (and honestly), they’re too expensive. All three swimmies included in the picture are all above 2k. That’s a little ridiculous for a budget shopper like me. So, if you’re kind enough to get me any one of the swimmies I posted above, I would love you forevs. (I personally prefer the Anais the most, XS/S please). (All pictures from http://www.floatswimwear.com)

A NICE SURPRISE FOR CHRISTMAS WOULD BE a Luzon del Dia pack from Cotopaxi! I just got acquainted with the brand and the work they do for their factory employees here in the Philippines. A Luzon del Dia pack gives an employee 100% freedom in choosing the colorway, which I think is quite cute. Also, it would be nice to have something from an international brand that’s actually made in my home country for a change! The Luzon del Dia 18L pack is available online for $49.99. The regular version retails at $34.99.

tig-gear-patrol-cotopax

Cotopaxi Luzon Del Dia 18L pack. Lovingly made by skilled Filipino hands. Photo from gearpatrol.com

If all else fails, money (which goes to my gear fund) would be best. Because really what is the use of buying a pair of pink shorts for me that I will never ever wear, right?

How about you, what’s on your Christmas wish list?

Standard

Leave a Reply

